Book Club #1

There’s nothing better than curling up in bed with a cup of tea, reading a good book…

Until you realise that it’s suddenly 11pm and you have college the next day so you have to be up at 7 and you immediately regret not drinking decaf tea.

This hasn’t yet happened to me but I am waiting for the day that it does happen.

Anyway this is (hopefully) the start of a new series on this blog. If you have been a reader since the start (then hey) and you may remember that I was actually going to do a book post every month but then I stopped and have since changed my mind and am Β bringing it back. Instead of one every month, there shall be one after I have read five books so that could be every month of couple of months, it depends on how fast I read which varies of how huge my pile of coursework is. It doesn’t matter how good or bad the book, I shall still share my 100% honest opinion with you lads.

I don’t read a specific genre by the way it’s kind of anything and everything as you will see from this 5 and I always get my books from the charity shop because they are SO much cheaper (I would highly recommend that you check out your local one).

Also I will give no spoilers.

img_6476a

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Powell

You may remember that I purchased this from a charity shop and I finished reading it on the 1st November which was ages ago, I know, but I do vividly remember it. This is hands down one of the best books I have read (so far) and I know that it’s a very well known book. It’s basically about twin sisters who go to college but are very different and it focuses on Cath, the quiet and shy one. It’s basically about her fitting in with college, whilst also being the author of a famous fanfiction and having problems with her sister, Dad and boys. There’s so much going on and different story lines which meant that I literally could not put it down and I spent many an afternoon reading this instead of coursework (oops…). I love books set in the 21st century with the fanfictions and in some ways I could totally relate to Cath in some ways. That made me like it even more and it is just written so well and I understand it all as it was written for teens. I give it a solid 5 out of 5 stars and would highly recommend it to anyone.

img_6475a

2. I See You – Greg Hurwitz

This is another charity shop purchase because I wanted to branch out and try something different, so I selected this which is supposedly “an unforgettable thriller”. I disagree. I finished it on the 14th November and it is about a man who wakes up with no memory on the last 24 hours or so but has found that his ex fiance has been murdered. He has been accused and there’s evidence, so it’s about him finding out who’s behind it like a detective. It reminded me a little bit of Pretty Little Liars. Anyway, I can recall only about two moments where there was suspense and I felt on edge whilst reading it. Aside that it’s your average murder mystery book but there’s no way that this kept me up all night like one review says it does. I’m not saying that it is a bad book because I did enjoy reading it, some bits were confusing like remembering all of the characters names but I always struggle with that. If you’re looking for a good murder mystery book then this is definitely for you, even though in some ways I kind of predicted who the murderer was that was framing him as it was kind of obvious and not original at all. So 3.5 out of 5 stars.

img_6477a

3. Fashion Babylon – Imogen Edwards-Jones

My Mum bought this for me from the charity shop because she knows that I would love to be in the fashion industry and if like me you do to then you need to read this book. I finished reading this on the 21st November. It is basically six months in the life of an anonymous fashion designer who owns a small and upcoming label. It’s one of the best books ever (so far) because you get to see (well read) what it is like behind the scenes of a label and fashion shows etc and that is kind of what I would like to do when I am older. I found this so useful and I actually learnt a lot as well. I would only recommend this to those who actually want to go into the fashion industry or are interested in it. If you google the author then you will see that she has done loads of similar books but with different jobs. This definitely gets a 5 out of 5 stars.

img_6474a

4. Just Listen – Sarah Dessen

This is the only book in this five that was bought in an actual bookshop. I’ve literally had it for years but I never got round to reading it until now. I finished reading this on the 27th November so it didn’t take me very long to read at all because it’s another of those books that I could not put down. It’s rather cliche, so it’s about a teenage girl who was very popular but then becomes unpopular because of something, so hangs out with someone else unpopular and then there’s a love story between them. She also has problems within her family. It’s a good book and other people on Instagram seem to think that as well. There is also lots of plot lines and flashbacks interweaved as she has lots of things going on and it all leads up to her finally telling people what happened and why she lost all of her friends. This meant that I couldn’t put it down. I’d recommend it to any teen but I am more into reading adult books now so I feel as though I have grown out of the whole teenage cliche books. Therefore I’d only give this 4 out of 5 stars but it is still a good book.

img_6478a

5. Ashes – Isla J.Bick

I only finished this a couple of days ago because it took me so long to read and was given to me by my Mum who has also read it. It follows a girl who is camping when this zap is sent around the Earth and turned all the young people in flesh eating cannibals but she survived. The whole book is her survival story, finding and losing other survivors as well as finding civilisation. Gonna be honest and say that this is not a great book. It didn’t get my attention at the start, it took a while for the story to actually get going. The middle bit was really good and kept me reading as I wanted to see how she would survive and find the people that she had lost. However the ending was bad and really confusing and two days later I am still trying to get my head around what happened. I am also disappointed by what happened because I wanted something else to happen. If you’re into this sort of stuff then I would recommend it but it wasn’t really for me. I’d give it a 3 out of 5 stars.

 

Sorry for the longest post ever but if you like to read things like this then that would be amazing to know. And if you don’t like it then, I do accept criticism.

What books have you read recently? Have you read any of these books?

πŸ™‚

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST

10 thoughts on “Book Club #1

  1. I loved Fangirl – and I especially like how contemporary it felt, with the fan fiction element. I’m now quite keen to read Carry On, which is the full story of Simon & Baz. At first I was skeptical of this spin-off tale, but I read a couple of pages in the library and it actually seems pretty good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

