How To Organise Your Life

I decided to take a few days at the start of the year to get my head in the game (like Troy Bolton) and organise my life. Hence why I decided to make this post.

You are probably thinking, “why the hell would I take organisation tips from a 16 year old?!” and I shall not argue with that because it’s a valid question. However I like to think of myself as a very organised person. I have notebooks filled with to do lists and I get good grades which shows that I have good time management. Like everyone though I do procrastinate a lot and I make all these plans and stuff but never actually follow them #storyofeveryoneslife.

But that shan’t be me this year. It’s time to get my head in the game.

I have to juggle lots of things: work, college, my non-existent social life (yeah that’s it) so I have come up with some tips to hopefully be more organised in 2017. This is inspired by my lack of organisation over the last few weeks and that whilst endlessly scrolling through Tumblr I see 14 year olds more organised than me and it makes me very jealous.

img_6969a

Planner/diary

Well this is just a no brainer. I picked this up in Poundland and it is actually good quality and even though it is an academic one it’s not that different to a normal one. It’s great because it has the times of the day down the side so you can allocate everything to a time.This is so useful to have for anyone because they are small so you can take them everywhere. I would highly recommend planning out your day the night before so that you can wake up and then get on with the day instead of figuring out what needs to be done and writing it down.

 

Tidy!

It’s the new year, Β you have probably gone out and bought loads of new stuff which means you need to clear out all of your old stuff like books you won’t read, clothes you don’t wear and anything else. Then you can take it all to the charity shop to donate to a better home and help out those in need as well. I have got rid of loads of books that I won’t read again, this gives me an excuse to go and buy new ones. A tidy room/area means a tidy mind so pick up all of those clothes that I know are scattered around your room.

Bullet journal

If you use Tumblr then you will mostly likely know what a bullet journal is. It is basically an alternative to a diary/planner and I would only start one if you are wiling to put in the time to do it. My squared paper notebook is from Paperchase and I have a yearly overview, my 2017 goals and then some blogging things so I can see how my blog grows. Then for each month (I’ve only done January obviously) I have an overview, blog post plan, books I’ve read, a workout plan (that I probably won’t follow) and then like half a page for everyday. It’s very visual and can be as colourful or as monochrome as you like. An A5 book is great because then you can take it everywhere with you if you want.

To Do lists

I love a good to do list and this notebook is full of them. It’s handy to have one at hand all the time (or just use the notes on your phone) cause if you have an idea for something or a list of things to buy or to do when you get home or a list of homework for the weekend etc etc etc, you can put it in a to do list. Then it is really satisfying to cross them off once you have completed it.

img_6973a

Calendar

I drew this myself but they are easier and quicker to buy but they’re great for an overview of the month and you can write in people’s birthdays, days out that you’re planning and work. As you can see I have nothing planned and no work (yet). I also have some coloured dots and the orange is for when I am planning on going for a run but I have already not stuck to it… oops. Then the purple is for when I plan to upload a blog post. This coloured dot system is handy but remember to remember what colour is for what.

Sort out your sleep schedule

I know people who go to bed way after midnight and lay in till midday and you can do this if you want but I don’t think that it’s very good for you. I am a morning person and I know this isn’t the case for everyone but for a lot of people they are more productive in daylight as opposed to artificial light. So start going to bed earlier and getting up when you wake up and tackle those to do lists instead of laying in and staring at your phone.

Develop a routine

When I say this I don’t mean do the same thing at the same time everyday cause that would get boring. It could be something as simple as getting up at the same time every day and going to bed at the same time. It’s also good to develop a morning routine like all YouTubers have to really get your day going.
In my case I try and get up at like half 7 and then go for a run some days, other days I get up and eat then start on my mound of coursework. I try and also read for half an hour before I go to bed everyday.

img_6970a

Apps

Last but not least this is for those who hate pen and paper, so you hate most of the tips I have just suggested. Apps are great because you can take so much around with you in your pocket. You can get calendar apps, note apps, to do list apps, apps to sort out your sleep. The list is endless so I would make use of these because most of them are free.
This one is called My Study Life and allows you to fill in when your holidays are, exams and tasks. Then you can tick them off once you are done and it lets you know what tasks are due for the following and when your classes are. Best of all it is free so I would recommend it.

 

Do you have any tips to keep organised?

πŸ™‚

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST

15 thoughts on “How To Organise Your Life

  1. Love this post, a lot of the catergories you spoke about are part of the Happiness Planner which you may have read in my blog post that I now use. So far it has been incredibly helpful and I would definitely recommend it, you could get on for the whole of 2017 and just start at February or get the academic year one starting in September 2017 till August 2018 X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked this post! Those are great tipps! I also like to use my pinboard where I put stuff, that i really want to remember, I’m glad to have it. It keeps me organized as well.
    elena πŸ™‚

    outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. well done you! Wish I had been that organised when I was your age. Really good post πŸ™‚
    I recently sat down and made of a list of things I was regularly forgetting and tried to work out why. For example, forgetting to take vitamins so rather than leave them in a cupboard, they are now on my bedside. So my organisation tip would be identify what your weaknesses are and then work out how to solve them.
    I’ve also never tried a bullet journal – how are you finding keeping it up a few weeks in?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That is such a great tip, I shall use that when I keep forgetting things. I am honestly loving it, I feel so much more organised in getting homework and stuff done and actually attempting to work out :’)

      Like

Leave a Reply

