Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation

I haven’t done a product review in such a long time. But it’s back.

I featured this in my  New Year haul and a lovely reader commented that she would like me to review this so that is what I decided to do. If you guys ever have any suggestions for anything then feel free to let me know and I’ll probably do it because I run out of ideas for blog posts a lot.

Anywayyyy back to the actual post. This is the new Maybelline foundation that I got in the new year as I needed a new one (obviously). I have always used the Rimmel foundations because they are amazing but I thought that I would try something different for a change so after looking for ages at like every single brand I opted for this one because it was my colour and sounded good.

Because I bought this at the end of the day when I shop was about to close they literally had hardly any products left for any brand cause it was the end of the day and the sales were on. So I didn’t have much of a choice and all the pale coloured ones for every brand were gone. I’m still happy with my purchase though.

img_7189a

Maybelline’s first hydrating matte foundation for 100% velvet-smooth perfection
Unique gel-whipped formula
Ideal for normal to combination skin, medium coverage

 This refreshing gel-whipped foundation leaves complexion perfected and smooth with a velvety, soft-matte finish while skin stays hydrated for 12 hours.

 

I got this in Superdrug but I am pretty sure that it would have been the same price if I went to Boots. It was £7.99 which if I’m honest  it quite expensive and at first I was reluctant to pay that much. The Rimmel ones that I normally get are actually basically the same price but I much prefer their packaging and I’m pretty sure you get more product (I will stop comparing this to Rimmel now I promise).

It’s only 30ml which is quite small and if I am honest I don’t like the packaging at all. So it’s in a tube with a screw top lid so you never know how much you squeeze onto your hand and then there’s the dilema of putting too much onto your hand and not knowing what to do with it. In addition when you have put it on your hand you have to carefully screw the lid back onto the tube without ruining the foundation onto your hand. It’s just a struggle. Bottles with pumps are the way to go when it come to foundations.

img_7181a

I picked it up in the shade 01 Natural which I would recommend to those who are extremely pale, like myself. I know that in the photo it looks kinda orangey and it is, especially when you first apply it to your face. However once you have blended it, it looks fine. Trust me. This colour matches my skin colour perfectly so I love that about this foundation.

16176258_1020807318020297_1098905378_na
Awkward close up phone selfie…

I can’t even describe how good this looks. It’s only medium coverage which also kind depends on how much you apply, but it makes you skin look amazing. I don’t have the best skin and it’s incredible oily but this just covers that all up completely and not to boast or anything… but I look good with this on!  It does give a matte finish which is my preferred finish and it makes my skin look so smooth which is reality it really isn’t. I usually pair this with an MUA concealer for under my eyes and nose and stuff and a Rimmel Stay Matte powder that everybody used a few years ago.

The packaging and the website state that your skin stays hydrated for like 12 hours and if I’m honest I have no idea what that even means. If someone could explain then that would be great.

However this doesn’t last all day so by the end of the day I no longer look flawless. So I put this on in the morning and I don’t use a primer which I probably should but ain’t nobody got the money fo dat. I had a normal 6 hour day at college, it was absolutely freezing outside and tepid inside my college so I wasn’t sweaty or anything (probs TMI but sweating affects my foundation and make up). When I came home I did not look great.  I could very clearly see where the foundation had come off my chin and that was probably because I lean on my hands in class and it had all come off my nose and this is probably due to my very oily nose.  I honestly looked a mess because you could really see where it had come off. Then  under my eyes and around my nose it had gone so cakey and horrible. This could have been partly down to my concealer I don’t know. Then to make matters worse I had to go straight to work and I didn’t get time to make it look better so I came home late at night looking like a wreck.

I’m sure all of this could have not occurred if I used a primer…

15978328_1020807351353627_861573300_na
Another crappy selfie… I have the foundation, concealer and powder on but no bronzer or highlight

So to conclude: I dislike the packaging but love the product itself and it makes my skin look great. However after a while it looks not good if you have oily skin but this could probably be corrected with a primer.

I would still recommend this to anyone who is looking for a matte foundation!

 

If you have this then what’s your opinion on it?

What is your preferred foundation?

🙂

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shennanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | TUMBLR | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST

7 thoughts on “Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation

Leave a Reply

