Woman’s March 2017

Unless you live under a rock then you will know that last Saturday was home to the Woman’s March which took place all over the world.

*Disclaimer: none of these photographs are mine, I got them off google images*

I know that this post is kinda late seeing as it was a few days ago but I’ve been working my butt off for deadlines coming up and working at my job loads so I was kinda stressed. Sometimes you kinda need to just step back and breathe so that’s exactly what I did.

Anywayyyyyy I decided to write this post all about the march in case you were unfamiliar with what it was and to also just raise awareness about it because it’s really important. And as a proud feminist I just wanted to get my views down in typing for everyone to see.

new-hampshire-womens-march

 

“It is not our differences that divide us. It is our inability to recognise, accept and celebrate those differences” – Audre Lorde

So it all started when Teresa Shook wrote a post on Facebook asking if people would be up for staging a protest in Washington DC on the newly elected Presidents first day in office to speak up for women’s rights. As you can probably guess this went absolutely viral and thousands and thousands of people signed up to take part in it. Then so many others were set up all around the world and it became it an international campaign.

stockholm-1

“Stand united, we will never be divided”

On 21st January 2017, all over the world, both men and woman marched the streets to protest for women’s rights as part of an international campaign to send a message to the new American government. The march was in response to comments that Trump made about women, minorities and other groups during his campaign. I don’t need to repeat them and I don’t want to repeat them cause they were just over the line and why he is the president, I have no idea.

Woman’s rights are human’s rights regardless of their race, religion, ethnicity, age, disabilities etc etc and we have got to stand up for them. We have a voice and therefore we should use it. I can’t believe that it is 2017 (nearly put 2016) and we are having to protest for equality. It’s ridiculous.

We shouldn’t rest until women are equal across all levels of leadership in society. Who’s with me?

womens_march_washington_dc_usa_33

“Build bridges not walls”

I didn’t actually take part in one because London is quite a way away and plus I had to work all day but I spent all of Sunday looking through the Snapchat live things, Instagram and reading articles online. It is so great to see everyone uniting and coming together and standing up for what they believe in. What is so great about this march is that it wasn’t just women, but men as well. Men can be feminists and many of them are. There was also many public speeches, spoken not just by women but men as well. There was politicians, activists, celebrities, everyone basically (aside those people who don’t want women’s rights, but we can just ignore them)

I don’t know what the total head count was but there was approximately 100,000 people in London and hundreds of thousands of people in Washington.

womens-march-on-portland

I would love to hear your opinion on this topic!

I also wrote a post about feminism in fashion if you would like to read it

 

Did any of you attend a march?

πŸ™‚

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shennanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST

8 thoughts on “Woman’s March 2017

  1. Really liked this post! It’s so important to write about things like this as well! I think it’s sad that women still have to protest for their rights, but I believe that once poeple will finaly get, that there’s no difference between women and men at all!
    love, elena

    outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

