Donating My Hair to the Little Princess Trust

It took quite a lot of courage to get my hair cut short and donate it to charity but I am honestly so happy that I did it!

So on the 31st January I headed into the hair salon at my college feeling both terrified and excited at the same time. When I left I felt so good about what I just did which contrasts how I felt when I was getting it cut because I was literally shaking and my heart was pounding!

Lets take it back now y’all to explain why I decided to do this:

So if you have seen some of my outfit posts then you will know that I have a lot of hair. I mean A LOT! It was super long and super thick and even though it looked good (not to be vain or anything) it was so hard to maintain. I couldn’t get a brush through it and it was just so unbelievably annoying and I couldn’t take it anymore. So I wanted to get it cut short and then I thought why not do a good deed at the same time and donate it to charity. And that’s what I decided to do.

img_7282a
Not in focus, sorry not sorry
img_7277a
I really need to perfect the setting camera on timer and the photo actually being in focus…
img_7285a
Excuse the belly…

As you can see in these before shots that I did on the morning, I have very long, thick hair. And an extremely messy room…

For those of you who aren’t familiar, the Little Princess Trust is a charity that takes donations of your hair. I know this might sound a bit odd but basically with all of the donated hair they make it into real hair wigs for children who have lost their hair due to cancer treatment or other illnesses.

Cancer has affected my family a lot and that in turn has affected me so it’s good to give back and I like doing things for charity because it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

I shall tell you how they do it because they don’t just cut it off and sweep it into a bag, it’s a bit more complex than that. So once it has been washed and blow dryed (which took over an hour cause I have so much hair) they put it into sections depending on how much hair you have, in my case 4. Then they plait it and snip away. This is by far the most terrifying part. I had a friend with me so she was reassuring me but there was a crowd of people around the chair watching and my heart was literally pounding and my palms were so sweaty. It was horrible. But once it had been done and they levelled it off I had got my heart rate back to normal and I loved how it looked.

Gonna be honest and say that it was a little shorter than I wanted but it will grow back.

img_7291
Taken right after getting it cut so it’s straight cause they blow dryed it
img_7295a
Still not in focus… ahaha… Also spot the Doritos in the background :’)
img_7303a
Think it looks cuter in a side parting
img_7307a
OMG IT’S SO SHORT!!!! and dat contouring doh… dayum

These photos were taken the day afterwards so it had gone back to being curly cause it was quite straight after they had done it as it had been blow dryed. Not gonna lie it makes me look so much older *insert sassy lady emoji*

I’m not asking you to go and cut off your hair but I am writing this post to raise awareness because doing anything for any charity can really make a difference. In my case I am providing kids with wigs but you might want to do something different and donate your time or even money. Even buying stuff from a charity shop can help people.

Here is a link to the Little Princess website:Β http://www.littleprincesses.org.uk/donate-hair/

If you are planning on doing this, check the guidelines and make sure that the hairdressing salon either send it off or give it to you to send off.

What sort of things (no matter how big or little) do you do for charity?

πŸ™‚

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shennanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST

15 thoughts on “Donating My Hair to the Little Princess Trust

  1. Donating my hair to charity is on my bucket list and I think that this definitely the charity I want to donate it too since cancer I have known quite a few people who have unfortunately had to go through it.
    I have nominated you for the inspirational blogger award! It’s an award that we (me and Lucy) have created to celebrate our blog anniversary and it’s a slightly different style to most other blog awards. I would love it if you could check out our post and do the tag!
    Aleeha xXx
    http://www.halesaaw.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such a good charity to donate to, I love that other people want to donate their hair as well!
      Oh wow thank you so much! I shall try and do that post as soon as possible πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  2. you’re so beautiful and your haircut is so sassy and awesome! I’ve been wanting to cut my hair for such a long time and I’m thinking of cutting it this march!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

