Wicked | Opinions and Outfit

After going to watch Wicked at the Apollo Victoria Theatre on Friday I can now conclude that it is my favourite musical (so far)

I have loved musicals and the stage since I can remember. Like every other kid, I did ballet when I was 5 for about 5 years until I got bored of it. When I was about 7 I started doing tap and modern dancing with my brother and I participated in pantomimes every year from 2007 until 2015 when I had to stop because of GCSE stuff. I also did 3 plays during that time when I had acting roles but I was primarily a dancer and chorus.

I have seen quite a few musicals in my time including Starlight Express (twice), Lion King, Catz (or Cats I don’t remember) and We Will Rock You but I definitely think that Wicked tops them all.

[sorry for not great photos, but it was dark and I didn’t want to annoy people by putting on the flash]

img_7352a

If you guys have no idea what Wicked is then I’m not judging but why and how do you not?!?! It’s basically to do with the story of The Wizard of Oz (which you should know) and it focuses on the witches. So it’s kind of like the prequel to it and then towards the end it does incorporate some of The Wizard Of Oz story. I don’t want to spoil anything but you can always Google it to find out more.

I have actually read the book. I picked it up in the charity shop and read it sometime last year and my god it’s a long and confusing book! But now after watching it I understand it more and they obviously left out bits but that’s the okay. It was a book that inspired the play. Even if you haven’t read it, I think that it is still an easy story to follow.

img_7357a

The acting of the whole cast was superb and the songs were even better. Their voices literally blew me away because the songs were difficult but they hit every note and it left me speechless. You will have probably heard of the song Defying Gravity because everyone sings it on Britains Got Talent as their audition song. Anyway it is a hard song to sing and watching it live literally gave me goosebumps. I’m not joking. It was amazing and I am now listening to the soundtrack on repeat, especially that song.

I obviously couldn’t take photographs which is upsetting because the costumes were absolutely amazing! I love looking at theatrical costumes and one of Glinda’s dresses was covered in glitter and sparkles which make me so happy because I love me some glitter. But I got some photos of the theatre which was gorgeous so that’s all that I can show you.

img_7353a

The set was so good as well and above the stage they had a dragon that occasionally moved it’s head and breathed smoke cause fire would be dangerous (duhhh). So I got a picture of that.

I’m just rambling on about random bits as per usual but over all I freakin loved it and I would give it a solid 5 out of 5 stars!

img_7358a

Outfit:

img_7363aimg_7364aimg_7365aimg_7366a

Of course I had to get a couple of snaps of my outfit with my new haircut. I look like a Mum but I don’t care. Also, fun fact, I do have glasses for long distance stuff which I’m glad I bought cause we were sat in the circle but still had a perfect view with no tall people in front.

Vest – Primark
Shirt thing – SoulCal
Denim Jacket – Β George (clothing line at Asda, was my Mums)
Coat – Topshop (but got it from a charity shop)
Jeans – H&M
Belt – (no idea…)
Boots – Can’t see them but they’re my pink floral Doctor Martens
Choker – New Look
Necklaces – H&M

What is your favourite musical?

πŸ™‚

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shenanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST

11 thoughts on “Wicked | Opinions and Outfit

Leave a Reply

