Book Club #2

Guess who’s back. Back again. Book clubs back. Tell a friend.

(that was so not original so I do apologise)

It’s been a while since I posted Book Club #1 but it does take a while to read 5 books so…

In today’s post I have a wide variety of books so it could give you some recommendations and if you have read them before then I would love to hear what you thought about them.

Lets do this:

1. The Wild Rover – Mike Parker

img_7758a

You guessed it, this book is from the charity shop and I really love travel books hence why I got this. I finished it on the 12th January because it took me ages to read. It is about a man who walks the paths of Britain and it’s not just his journey and experiences but also his the history of these paths as well. It’s all a true story by the way. I don’t know what to think about this book honestly because I’m not interested in history so parts were a bit boring because the author went really in depth with the history. I understand that this would interest lots of people but not me. On the other hand I did like reading about his walks and all the problems that he encountered but I found the descriptions of some of these to be brief. It’s a long book and it took me a while because it did drag on in some parts. So if you’re into history and walking then I would highly recommend. If you like travel then you may find this interesting. I would give it a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

 

2. Lament – Maggie Stiefvater

img_7759a

I got this  at some book swap that I’m pretty sure I did in year 7 but I’ve only just got round to reading it and I finished it on the 23rd January. It’s a fantasy book about faeries and the main character is in love with one but he is an assassin and is told to kill her but he won’t because they are in love. All I can say is that this is your typical cheesy love story but with faeries. I thought I was too old for this and wouldn’t like it but I actually loved it. Despite the cheesiness I really enjoyed it as it was so well written and I love books where you can imagine what the character would look like. I like fantasy books so it was like that met real life with a love triangle and a lot of drama. I would love to know what happens after the end, I’m very curious to know, because there are still a couple of things that I am curious about. This is for anyone who loves a fantasy romance book. A solid 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 

3. Girl Online: Going Solo – Zoe Sugg

img_7755a

OMG. I. LOVE. THIS. BOOK. I finished it on the 29th January because I literally couldn’t put it down. It’s the follow up to Girl Online: On Tour and follows Penny as she becomes more independent and moves on from the drama of the summer. I loved the first two so I knew that I would love this one. Zoe is a fan of who I watched loads when I was 13 and I am still a fan of hers hence why I bought the first book and I obviously had to buy the rest of the series. I think that this is very well written for someone who  isn’t a professional author and I don’t believe the ghost writer accusations.  I absolutely love the characters and I want a best friend like Elliot so bad because he sounds great. The thing I love most about this book is that there is so many plot twists and SO much happens in just under 300 pages. I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves a classic teen novel and who has read the first two (obviously). A solid 5 out of 5 stars from me and to make this even better I got a signed copy of the book.

 

4. Catcher In The Rye – J.D. Salinger

img_7756a

This book was given to me by my Dad and I practically read the whole thing on my 5 hour journey to Somerset the other week but I finished it the following day on the 11th February. This book doesn’t really have a storyline but it’s about a boy named Holden Caulfield  and he is retelling the time that he was kicked out of school and him wandering around New York for a few days before returning home to his parents. I don’t really know what to say about this book even though it is a classic. It’s not confusing because I understood everything that was going on but there isn’t really a beginning a middle or an end and the whole time I was reading this I was wondering how it would end. And it ended kinda abruptly. It wasn’t a bad book just kinda odd. But if you love to read classics then I would highly recommend this. I would say a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

 

5. The Secret Garden –  Frances Hodgson Burnett

img_7757a

I have no idea where I got this book but I finished it on the 15th February. It is about a young girl who loses her parents so goes to England to live with her uncle and there she discovers this secret garden (surprise surprise) and that she has a cousin. So it’s about them keeping the garden secret and revitalising it with the help of a friend. If I am honest I am not a fan of classics as much but I freaking love this book. I could not put it down because I wanted to know about their adventures in the secret garden. However because some of the characters are from Yorkshire and their speech was written in that way, which made it a little hard to understand (if ya get me). But I would still highly recommend this to anyone and everyone who loves to read classics and I would give it a solid 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 

A pretty wide variety of books I have just read and keep your eyes peeled for when I write my next one (most likely to be in a month or more).

 

What books have you read recently? Have you read any of these books?

🙂

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shenanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | TUMBLR | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST

9 thoughts on “Book Club #2

  1. I love The Secret Garden! I also really enjoyed A Little Princess, by the same author. I’ve just given up on a book (“The Lion’s Share” by Arnold Bennett) which is something I very rarely do, because it makes me feel guilty – even though I know that it’s silly to feel guilty for not enjoying something – because you can’t force yourself to enjoy it! Anyway, I’m about to start reading something much more fun – “Big Money” by PG Wodehouse who is one of my favourite ever authors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

