The Importance Of Taking Time Out

It is so easy to become overwhelmed with mounds of work and to spend hours and hours trying to complete it with no breaks.

IMG_8570aYou may get the work done but what you are doing is not healthy and the work probably won’t be to the standard that you would like. If this sounds like you then I totally know how you feel. We are all in the same metaphorical boat here.

Today I wanted to write about something that is not fashion based because I like to switch things up and write about health because it is such an important topic in this social media society.

I have a tendency to spend hours and hours lying on my floor desperately trying to get all my textiles coursework done, annotations for photography or revision for psychology. I also spend a lot of time hunched over my laptop blogging and endlessly scrolling through Twitter. One thing a lot of people have told me recently is that “you need to take out more time for yourself and do something for you not for college”. And I don’t disagree with these people (my Mum and my teachers) because it is so true. I spend a good 80% of my time doing college work and in my free time I blog. Don’t get me wrong, I love blogging so much, I love just typing away and I am doing it for me but I feel like I need to get out of the flat sometimes because I am always on my laptop which is so bad for my already not great eyes. Also sometimes with my blog I feel like I have to spend so much time on my content because my followers are increasing a lot and I feel like I need to keep up all that work but then in the end I shouldn’t feel this pressure.

I hope I am making sense.IMG_8547a

So basically, recently I have made an effort to do more things for me that I actually want to do and for me that is things like designing and making clothes because ultimately that is what I would like to do with my life. I ย am also trying to hang out with people more outside of college and just getting out of the flat more especially since the weather is gradually getting better.

I wanted to show you some pictures I took the other day whilst also explaining how beneficial it can be to just get out.

IMG_8544aSo on this particular day I was home alone all day and I decided that I would have a break and just get out the flat. Sometimes I like to sit in coffee shops and draw or read but I need to stop spending money on drinks and stuff cause it really adds up. The plan for this day was to get out and go to some gardens or a park because there is a few around that I have never been to even though I have lived where I live for 6 months now.IMG_8546a

All the photographs on this post were taken at St Leonards Gardens which is 10 minutes away from where I live and even though it’s kinda small it’s so pretty there. Because it is on a slope there is a pond at the bottom and then when you get to the top you can see the sea and it’s so calming and beautiful. I sat there for a while drawing (as you can see) and it was so nice to get some fresh air and do something that I quite enjoy doing. I would have read but I forgot my book which was annoying.ย IMG_8540a

Even though I was only out for an hour because it was kinda cold it was great to get away from hunching over my desk trying to complete coursework. It was only a short break but when I came back I felt really productive and I actually managed to get quite a lot done and I was happy with the work that I completed.

IMG_8565a

Short breaks like this are so beneficial because it’s gives you a chance to destress and take
a moment to just breathe and get some fresh air. I know they say that it’s good to go get some exercise like going for a run but that can take a while, I mean it depends how far you run but I personally feel like going for a walk is much better.

I have decided that each day I’m not at college, which is 3 days a week, I need to take some more time to do things that I want to do and where possible get outside especially since the weather is warming up.

IMG_8573aI have started playing the guitar again so I am really going to make an effort to keep that up because I don’t have that many hobbies, blogging is literally my only one.

 

Therefore I encourage all of you guys to try and take at least half an hour out of your busy schedule to do something that you ACTUALLY want to do that isn’t work or college related. Whether that’s going for a walk and getting some fresh air or reading that pile of books in the corner of your room or picking up a guitar that has been gathering dust.

I would ย love to hear how it goes if you do it!

 

How do you take time out for yourself?

๐Ÿ™‚

Donโ€™t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shenanigans:

BLOGLOVINโ€™ย |ย TWITTERย |ย TUMBLRย |ย INSTAGRAMย |ย PINTEREST

10 thoughts on “The Importance Of Taking Time Out

  1. Isn’t it great to have a nice park close to where you live? I ave lived in three different places in London, two of which were close to nice parks. My favourite one was Ruskin Park, in Denmark Hill. It was a beautiful place to walk round, with a pond and plenty of benches – and squirrels! I like that your park has a sea view too, that sounds lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate to what your saying. The pressure increases in life, and it gets harder. I try to take time to myself too–your post reminded me to consciously remember to do it. Speaking of, I did yesterday by sleeping in and canceling some activities of the day. A much needed day off.
    Always great posts
    -Brianna Kirk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

