Fishnet Tights | Trying Something New

I have decided to jump on the bandwagon by purchasing a pair of fishnet tights.

Fishnet tights are everywhere at the moment. I see people wearing them all over Instagram and I have a friend at college who wears them and they look so good that I decided to go out and purchase a pair myself and then tell the world what I thought of them.

IMG_9011a

I couldn’t actually find them in a lot of shops so I ended up going to New Look where they were a whopping Β£4.99. Now for one pair of tights that is expensive and now I am scared that I am going to rip them because then I would have to get another pair and I’m trying to save money not spend it. Anyway that was the only place I could find them but I’m sure loads of places do them.

IMG_9016a

I wasn’t quite sure what to wear them with at first but then I opted for a baggy t shirt and a pencil skirt as that is an outfit that I seem to wear quite a lot. Furthermore I put on some knee high socks because I hate my legs without tights and because these are full of holes you can see how unbelievably pale I am and I hate it. Finally I had to put on my denim jacket because I wear that with everything and I chucked on my baseball boots because it’s too hot for Dr Martens.

IMG_9021a

Overall I have to say that I absolutely love how these look! In my opinion they instantly make an outfit look more grunge and edgy and I quite like that vibe, as it’s very popular at the moment. I also think that these are great for the summer when it’s warm but not super hot because you can put on a pair of long socks with them and your legs are still slightly covered up. I shall definitely be pairing these with skirts this summer as I hate not wearing tights.

I don’t know how to explain this but I feel like they really add something to an outfit. So before the tights this was a normal outfit for me but then you wack on the tights and omg it’s a completely new outfit! If I wore my black Dr Martens then I would have looked like I came straight from Tumblr (life goals).

Not gonna lie I got quite a few stares but I am very much used to that now. I always see people wearing these online but never in person, but then again that could just be where I live that no one really wears them.

IMG_9025a

In terms of sizing and the fit of them, they’re okay. I picked up a small/medium and I didn’t check the sizing because I don’t know what size I am but I know that my legs are kinda long. I have only wore these once (when these photos were taken and I am wearing them today) but I have noticed that they have stretched a little bit in the crotch area. soz if that’s TMI. I don’t know why but it could be because I have wide hips for my size so they’ve stretched a bit to fit. I am praying they don’t rip cause they were pricey, but if they do I may be able to repair them. Β If any of you guys wear these and have had this problem then PLEASE let me know!

IMG_9027a

Gonna be honest and say that when I first wore these I thought they were SO uncomfortable because they’re a weird texture and it is not normal to wear a pair of tights with so many holes in. You get used to it after a while though. Also it constantly feels like they’re falling down even though they’re most likely not, I don’t know how to describe it but it’s weird. The final not so great thing that I have to say about these is the risk of sunburn because it has been so hot recently in the UK that I have gotten sunburnt on my face. And because these have holes in I am so scared about getting sunburnt on my legs, so I am praying that that never happens. Okay so it’s only been like 18 degrees here but that’s enough to get me burnt… The struggle of being pale…

I have just thought of another good thing about them and that is people can’t tell if you’ve shaved your legs or not unless they’re really looking closely at your legs. This is very beneficial for those who are too lazy and can’t be bothered to shave their legs (*cough cough* me *cough cough*)

IMG_9029a

Anyway to conclude: These looks really adorable, but I wouldn’t pay that much again because I’m scared they will rip.

If you are thinking of getting a pair then go for it! They look super cute under a skirt and also underneath a pair of jeans and a crop top. You will be seeing these a lot on this blog, trust me!

IMG_9033a

Outfit details:

Jacket – George
Top – Topman
Skirt – H&M
Tights – New Look
Socks – (Probably) Primark
Shoes – Primark
Satchel – Paperchase
Choker – New Look

Also please ignore how gross my hair looks. I don’t know how to style it so I don’t like it and wish it was long again 😦

 

Do you like the fishnet tights trend? If you have a pair, how do you style them?

πŸ™‚

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shenanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ |Β TWITTERΒ |Β TUMBLRΒ |Β INSTAGRAMΒ |Β PINTEREST
6 thoughts on “Fishnet Tights | Trying Something New

Leave a Reply

