Decluttering Your Wardrobe | Tips and Tricks

Lets be real here, everyone has clothes stashed away in the bottom of their wardrobe that have not seen the light of day in a very long time.

If this isn’t you then I applaud you!

I’ve kinda got to a point where I don’t like a lot of my clothes so deciding what to wear takes longer than usual and my wardrobe (or should I say floordrobe) is so unbelievably messy that I figured it was high time that I went through it all. Also I’m moving soon so I need to cut down on the amount of clothes that I have.

I don’t think that I have that many clothes but I was still wanting to get rid of ones that I haven’t worn in forever. When I did a similar thing last summer I kept loads of clothes because I said to myself that I would wear them again. But I haven’t. So they need to go.

I decided to photograph this process and write a post because it may help some of you who have loads of clothes that you don’t wear.

IMG_9108a

Sooooo this is what my wardrobe looked like before. This is 100% what it looked like and there was also clothes on my floor that you can’t see. It was horrendous.

I don’t have a chest of drawers so that’s why my clothes are on the floor of my wardrobe because I had no where else to put them and I hardly own any coat hangers so I couldn’t hang them up either.

IMG_9111a

I would firstly recommend that  you empty your wardrobe and just make a massive pile of clothes that you can go through individually and decide what to keep and what to get rid of.

 

My first tip is to think about how much you have worn that item of clothing in the last month. If you’ve worn it a few times then it would be worth keeping obviously but if you haven’t worn it at all then you should considering putting it in the “getting rid” pile. Even if you like it, then you should still consider not keeping it because there’s no point in keeping clothes that you aren’t going to wear and haven’t worn in a very long time.

Next I would suggest that you don’t get rid of everything. You have to be reasonable because you need some clothes. So even if you haven’t worn it in forever and you really like then think about what outfits you could put it with so that you’ll actually wear it. This totally contradicts my last point but hopefully you understand what I am saying.

Remember you should always have something for every occasion! For example I have a couple of dresses that I don’t wear but it’s always good to have them in case I get invited to a formal occasion which I never do, but it’s always good to be prepared. It’s always good to  have some smart clothes like a nice shirt that you can wear to a job interview or something. Also just because you don’t go swimming, don’t get rid of your costume because you may go and regret getting rid of it.

Take into consideration how much you spent on the item of clothing. This tip doesn’t apply to me because like all of my clothes were from the charity shop or I got them in the sale, but I know there’s probably a lot of people out there who spend a lot of money on clothing. Therefore if you spent like over £100 on a dress that you’ve only worn once, maybe you should consider keeping it as that’s a lot of money. However if you only spent £10 on a top that you don’t really wear then you could consider getting rid of it.

Finally… donate your clothes to charity or give them to friends and family! When I say “getting rid of” I don’t mean literally because that’s a waste. By donating them, you are giving them another life with someone else and you are also helping out charities. There’s probably people out there who don’t like to buy clothes from charity shops but that shouldn’t stop you donating your clothes to them.

 

IMG_9115a

So once I have considered all of these points then I like to organise all of my clothes into piles like: tops, pyjamas, workout stuff, work clothes, jumpers, shorts/dunagrees. Then I also put everything on coat hangers that should be on coat hangers… and you’re done! Now to just put it all back into your wardrobe.

 

IMG_9119a

I decided to rearrange everything in mine and I am a lot happier with it. I also have these awesome drawer dividers to keep my socks and underwear and tights in. I would recommend you invest in these as it’s keeps everything seperate so it doesn’t get all messed up. Also if you have lots of skirts like myself then I would recommend that you get some skirt hangers (I got mine from Ikea) because you can’t really hang them on regular hangers and you don’t want to crease them.

IMG_9116a

I had a reasonable sized pile of stuff to go to charity to go to a better home. I had a lot of clothes that I wore when I was like 15 and would NOT wear now, so I thought it was time to let them go. There was also a Harry Potter jumper that I was planning on getting rid of but I knew I would regret it so I put it back in my wardrobe :’)

 

I hope this has been helpful or even inspired you to go through your wardrobe and organise it all.

 

Do you own loads of clothes that you don’t wear that just live in the bottom of your wardrobe?

🙂

Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Don’t forget to follow me on all social media to keep up with my shenanigans:

BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER | TUMBLR | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST

One thought on “Decluttering Your Wardrobe | Tips and Tricks

Leave a Reply

